Prompt #45 of the 2020 Reading Challenge

For this week, I’ve selected the following prompt from the 2020 Popsugar Reading Challenge :

A book with a character with a vision impairment or enhancement. (a nod to 20/20 vision)

So, to select a book for this prompt, I had only one option – to browse Goodreads. There was a list (there’s a list for everything there) and I selected the first book which I’d heard of.

The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern.

It’s a fantasy, based on a magical place full of books. Definitely a magical place for book-lovers. This is the first time I’m reading a book by this author, so I’m quite excited !


About the book I read last week, Good Girl, Bad Blood by Holly Jackson. It’s a sequel to A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder.

Only read this review if you’ve finished the first book because, well, spoilers ahead.

Pip is back, having solved a double murder mystery! With the help of Ravi, she released a podcast on the investigation, telling everyone the truth and how she got to it. She claims she is not a detective anymore, but when a friend needs help in a missing personโ€™s case, she couldnโ€™t say no. So, the second season of the podcast follows, as Pip begins to solve the new mystery.

The same writing theme continues as recordings of interviews and texts formats are included in the book. This mystery is just as engaging, as it also gives a thriller vibe because time is at a constraint. Along with Pipโ€™s investigation, the follow-up to the last book is also given, by way of updates of Maxโ€™s trial.

All in all, an amazing sequel to an amazing book. I always begin a sequel somewhat hesitantly, because I feel it wouldnโ€™t be as good as the first book. But in this case, Iโ€™m glad to say, I was wrong.

Only one thing that didnโ€™t sit well with me: the last mystery during the climax was just revealed easily without Pip actually discovering it. That didnโ€™t feel right. Also, the end wasnโ€™t conclusive because of course, thereโ€™s going to be a next book in the series. I hate when this happens just as much as I love that thereโ€™s going to be one more book.๐Ÿ˜…

What are you reading currently ?

Tell me about it.

Published by Swati @ jumbledpassions

I'm a Chartered Accountant by profession. I like to read, binge watch shows and travel.

2 thoughts on “Prompt #45 of the 2020 Reading Challenge

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started