Prompt #44 of the 2020 Reading challenge

This week I’ve selected the following prompt from the 2020 Popsugar Reading Challenge :

A book recommended by your favorite blog, vlog, podcast or online book club.

Since, I’m already doing their reading challenge this year, I decided to select a book recommended by one of my favorite websites, POPSUGAR !

They have a lot of lists of recommendations and I selected the following book from their Editor’s Pick List (18 New Page-Turners Our Editors Couldn’t Put Down This Year) :

Good Girl, Bad Blood by Holly Jackson.

This is actually the second book in the series (A Good Girl’s guide to Murder) I’ve already read the first book and so, selected this book for the prompt.

In the first book, the main character Pip, works on solving a local town mystery case involving disappearance of a girl and suicide by her alleged killer. It is detailed with writings in the form of transcripts of interviews, texts, murder maps etc., which made the book really interesting. The mystery was solved at the end of first book, so, I’m guessing the second book will involve a new mystery. I loved the first book, so I’m excited to read this !


About the book I completed last week, The Listerdale Mystery by Agatha Christie.

It’s actually a collection of 12 short stories, which I had no idea about before starting. That was a slight disappointment because I prefer novels over short stories. But the advantage with short stories is that you can read one whole story whenever you find short amounts of time during the day.

But the short stories in this book are amazing ! Only one story is a typical who-dunnit? type: Sing a song of sixpence. The others are all varyingly different. Some stories like The Manhood of Edward Robinson and The Rajah’s Emerald involve stolen necklaces or jewels. Some other stories such as The Girl in the Train, The Golden Ball and Jane in search of a Job, provide us with an adventure and romance. Some are just dramatic like A Fruitful Sunday, The Listerdale Mystery and Swan Song. The other stories, Mr. Eastwood’s Adventure and Accident are the most curious ones, I couldn’t control my surprise at how they ended. Just one story, The Philomel Cottage, I felt was a bit unclear because I didn’t really get the ending.

There are a few similarities between the stories too. Like The Girl in the Train and The Golden Ball both start off similarly with the main character named George. Also, the romances are haphazard. You can be sure every story has some bit of romantic element in it.

Nevertheless, it is definitely an enjoyable collection !


What are you reading currently ?

Tell me about it.

Published by Swati @ jumbledpassions

I'm a Chartered Accountant by profession. I like to read, binge watch shows and travel.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started